MMA Names Michael Thomas 2015-2016 Chairman of Board; Andrew Mallinson Named Secretary-Treasurer

November 1st, 2015

MMA Names Michael Thomas 2015-2016 Chairman of Board; Andrew Mallinson Named Secretary-Treasurer

MMA Names Michael Thomas 2015-2016 Chairman of the Board; Andrew Mallinson Named Secretary-Treasurer

Michael Thomas, Manager of Land, Government and Public Affairs of The North American Coal Corporation in Ackerman, has been named the 2015-2016 Chairman of the Mississippi Manufacturers Association Board of Directors. Thomas joined North American Coal in 1998 as Manager of Human Resources, Safety and Training, and in 2002, he became Manager of Land, Government and Public Affairs. Before joining North American Coal, Thomas enjoyed a fulfilling 30-year career as an educator. He has over 45 years of experience in education administration, workforce development, governmental affairs, human resources and management.

Thomas has a Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial Education, an Educational Specialist degree from Mississippi State University, and a Masters degree in Vocational Education/Administration from the University of Arkansas.

He has always been active in community and professional organizations and currently serves as a board member of the following: Mississippi Energy Institute, State Workforce Investment Board, Golden Triangle Regional Solid Waste Management Authority, and Holmes Community College Workforce Development Council. Thomas also served for three terms as a member of the Board of Aldermen for the town of Ackerman, and has been recognized for his achievements and is a recipient of the prestigious Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award.

Thomas is a French Camp native and currently lives in Ackerman. He is married to Dot Thomas and they have two children and five grandchildren.


Mallinson Elected MMA Secretary-Treasurer

In addition, Andrew Mallinson, CEO and Owner of Multicraft International in Pelahatchie, was named Secretary-Treasurer of the MMA Board.

Originally from London, England, Mallinson was formerly a Consulting Manager with Ernst and Young in Toronto and an Executive at Magna International of Canada. He is a Chartered Accountant in England and Canada and received his degree from Loughborough University in England.

Mallinson has been with Multicraft International for 27 years. Multicraft International is a full-service manufacturer of technologically advanced electronic and electromechanical components, complex wire harnesses and metal tube assemblies. The business has been supplying world class OEM products to the consumer products, automotive and outdoor power equipment industries, since 1978.

Mallinson has served on the following boards: Society of International Business Fellows, Young Presidents Organization, MMA Workmen’s Compensation, and he served as chair of St. Andrews Episcopal School. He is currently a World Presidents Organization member and Chairman of the Board of The Walker Companies.

MMA Leaders

In addition to Thomas and Mallinson, members of the 2015-2016 MMA Executive Committee are as follows:

  • Chairman-Elect, Jim McIngvale, Government & Community Affairs Director, Ingalls Shipbuilding, Pascagoula.
  • Vice Chairman, Earl Walker, Senior Director/Site General Manager-Mississippi, Airbus Helicopters, Inc., Columbus.
  • Immediate Past Chairman, Trent Mulloy, President, Laurel Machine & Foundry Company, Laurel.
  • MMA President & CEO, Jay C. Moon, CEcD, FM, HLM.


The following MMA Board Members have been selected to represent their respective districts:

  • District 1 (Coahoma, Desoto, Lafayette, Marshall, Panola, Quitman, Tate & Tunica Counties): Kenneth Cammarato, Roxul USA Inc., Byhalia; Michael Howe, Olin/Winchester, Oxford; and John Stubbs, Nidec Motor Corp., Southaven.
  • District 2 (Alcorn, Benton, Itawamba, Lee, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo & Union Counties): Tommy Kline, Spiral Fab, Inc., Fulton; Cecil Overton, T & L Specialty Co., Inc., Tupelo; Barry Smith, MTD Products, Tupelo; Steve White, RockTenn, Tupelo; and Al Wiygul, American Furniture Manufacturing, Inc., Pontotoc.
  • District 3 (Attala, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Lowndes, Monroe, Noxubee, Oktibbeha & Winston Counties): Dick Dean, Tronox, Hamilton; Lex Lemmers, PACCAR, Inc., Columbus; and Charles Thomas III, Shuqualak Lumber Company, Shuqualak.
  • District 4 (Calhoun, Carroll, Grenada, Leflore, Montgomery, Tallahatchie, Webster & Yalobusha Counties): Tony Hardin, Varsity Pro, Inc., Calhoun City; and Ron Ussery, Viking Range Corp., Greenwood.
  • District 5 (Bolivar, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Sunflower, Washington & Yazoo Counties): Ken Lowery, Hunter Engineering Co., Durant.
  • District 6 (Claiborne, Copiah, Hinds, Madison, Rankin, Simpson & Warren Counties): Jesse Davenport, Foam Packaging, Inc., Vicksburg; Jim Faries, Tower Automotive, Madison; Bill Hoge, United Plastic Molders, Inc., Jackson; and Reed Morren, Eaton Aerospace, Jackson.
  • District 7 (Clarke, Jasper, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Scott & Smith Counties): Scott Gipson, Gipson Steel, Inc., Meridian; and Don Mather, La-Z-Boy South, Newton.
  • District 8 (Covington, Forrest, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Marion, Perry & Wayne Counties): Rand McLaughlin, Thermo-Kool/Mid-South Industries, Laurel; and Jody Norris, C.L. Dews & Sons Foundry, Hattiesburg.
  • District 9 (Adams, Amite, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike, Walthall & Wilkinson Counties): Bruce Reynolds, Monticello Tie & Timber, Monticello.
  • District 10 (George, Green, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River & Stone Counties): Cari Field, First Chemical Corp., A DuPont Co., Pascagoula; and Alan Sudduth, Chevron Products Co., Pascagoula.
  • At-Large Members: Ray Ables, Tyson Foods, Forest; Nathaniel Beach, GE Aviation, Ellisville; Rusty Berryhill, Kevin Charles Fine Upholstery, New Albany; Stephen Coleman, Raytheon Co., Space & Airborne Systems, Forest; Robbin Jeter, Entergy Mississippi, Jackson; Kevin Logan, Unipres Southeast USA, Inc., Forest; Glenn Lott, Hood Industries, Waynesboro; John Malone, Tennessee Valley Authority, Belden; Jason Rice, Nissan North America, Inc., Canton; Mark Smith, The Chemours Company, TT, Pass Christian; Billy Thornton, Mississippi Power Company, Gulfport; Trenton Tippey, Caterpillar, Inc., Corinth; Fred Volf, Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Mississippi, Inc., Blue Springs; and Stan Webb, Weyerhaeuser Company, Philadelphia.
Download the press release here.
(Adobe PDF File)